• Why Have LinkedIn Made All Groups Private? Here’s What You Need to Know

Why Have LinkedIn Made All Groups Private? Here’s What You Need To Know

Niraj Bagade | 7 NOV 2015

The world’s most popular social network for business has announced some pretty significant changes as of late, most notably the decision to make all LinkedIn groups private after October 14th, 2015.

In a nutshell, the network is reporting its choice to privatise groups was to create an improvement in ‘quality of conversation’.

 

 

But why does the quality of conversation need improvement?

If you’re a member of any groups on LinkedIn, you may have noticed that the main feed is often filled up with irrelevant comments, self-promotion or spam. It goes without saying that this is often a nuisance for members who joined to view valuable content and posts created by like-minded individuals.

 

 

How did the decision to privatise groups come about?

LinkedIn began studying internal data and taking note of feedback provided by thousands of users. At first, people wanted simpler group controls and tighter restrictions on joining to keep out the spammers. As LinkedIn posted to the Help Center outlining the new Groups changes, the network stated that “data has shown that open groups have historically attracted a larger percentage of low-quality conversations.”

However, LinkedIn soon decided to privatise the groups. This was the best decision, to ensure that only group members can see what goes on inside a group conversation, and that only authorised members can contribute to the feed.

The network has also placed restrictions on search engine crawlers, which will now be unable to detect the discussions.

In short, groups have now become a private area for those who genuinely wish to share their thoughts on a topic.

 

 

What does this mean for group owners?

If you currently run a group on LinkedIn, you’ll need to decide whether you’d like your group to be a Standard or Unlisted group. But what’s the difference?

  • Standard groups appear in the LinkedIn Group Directory. Members can invite their first-degree connections to join the group, and can also approve requests to join from members of that category.
  • Unlisted groups will not appear in any listings or the LinkedIn Group Directory. No badges will be displayed on members’ profiles. Only the owner or designated administrative managers can approve or invite others to the group.

 

 

What else is new with LinkedIn?

Around the time LinkedIn announced their decision to make groups private from now on, it was also announced that the network would be launching an iOS exclusive app specifically for LinkedIn groups.

The app will offer the option for push notifications to alert the user of updates or responses in group conversations.

Back on the browser version of LinkedIn, the network has promised to filter content more efficiently across the site, helping to reduce low-quality content or spam.

Finally, images and mentions are now possible in conversations on LinkedIn, both when starting a discussion and commenting.

 

Do you use LinkedIn Groups? What do you think of the decision to make all groups on LinkedIn private? Share your thoughts and opinions below!

Subscribe

Love this article?
Sign up with your email now and we'll send more stuff to you weekly!